Mary Ann Evans (22 November 1819 – 22 December 1880; alternatively "Mary Anne" or "Marian"), known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, poet, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Felix Holt, the Radical (1866), Middlemarch (1871–72), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight. She used a male pen name, she said, to ensure that her works would be taken seriously. Female authors were published under their own names during Eliot's life, but she wanted to escape the stereotype of women writing only lighthearted romances. She also wished to have her fiction judged separately from her already extensive and widely known work as an editor and critic.

Popular books

1 Silas Marner: 150th Anniversary Edition (Signet Classics) Silas Marner: 150th Anniversary Edition (Signet Classics)

George Eliot

2 Mill on the Floss (Penguin Popular Classics) Mill on the Floss (Penguin Popular Classics)

George Eliot

3 Middlemarch (Penguin Popular Classics) Middlemarch (Penguin Popular Classics)

George Eliot

Latest reviews

1 Middlemarch (Modern Library Classics) No Title

A review of Middlemarch (Modern Library Classics) by loupea on Wednesday 27th February 2008


Recent actions